RAWR!! (Jurassic World Review)

I LOVED Jurassic Park. It was every kids dream come true, it was fun film for the adults and well….DINOSAURS!! It’s basically what Spielberg did with Jaws except with T Rexes and Raptors. Make a movie featuring a creature man has to fight and survive from and BOOM summer blockbuster, millions of dollars in the box office, made a huge impact in the world of cinema, everybody’s happy.

Jurassic World is pretty much the same thing, except without the impact on cinema, but that’s unfair. You can’t fault Jurassic World for not being as influential as Jurassic Park. That’s like comparing the Empire State Building to a very Lego building, yeah sure they’re both good rite but come on…we know which is the better one. Don’t compare apples to oranges.

However, this doesn’t mean I don’t have my faults with the film. I’ll get to that later. Let me address the things I liked about Jurassic World. First, Chris Pratt is pretty solid lead as Owen Grady, the Raptor tamer at Jurassic World, who sees his raptors as more than just attractions, but more like brothers and sisters, as far as human-dino bonding goes. The film is lots of fun. Now that the park is open we could explore more dinosaurs than we did before, particularly the Mosasaurus who steals the scene in its very brief cameos. The action scenes are pretty amazing. From being chased by dinosaurs, to fighting off dinosaurs or hell, even riding with dinosaurs, when Jurassic World wants to be fun, it shines and your eyes are glued to the screen.

Now lets get to my gripes with the film

I feel like I should mention the casting of the film. They seem to have left out one cast member from top billing and that cast member is Mercedez Benz. Good God, it felt like every five minutes briefly switches from dinosaur movie to, well, a Mercedez Benz commercial, as thats the brand that’s driving around everybody in the park. (That sentence, by the way, is brought to you by Mercedez Benz). The product placement in this film feels relentless. The park says that they have sponsors who fund the park and so they have some buildings named after them as well as some shops set up for the guests. It’s a good reason to have brands and logos in the movie, but it doesn’t mean that they won’t totally take me out of the experience

The writing is another weak spot in the film. I mentioned that Chris Pratt was a good lead, but when you see him saying the cheesy dramatic statement, it’s kinda a laughable. You can’t blame Pratt, he’s doing the best he can with a somewhat weak script. Also, while I’m on the subject of dramatic statements, pretty much everybody has to STAND UP on their feet to make a dramatic delivery. Gee, where have I seen that before?

The last fault I’ll mention here is probably one where I stand alone in according to critics and other personal review blogs, but I HATED Bryce Dallas Howard’s role as Claire, the cold, uptight businesswoman who works at Jurassic World who is visited at the park by her nephews, who she then proceeds to hand them to her assistant, who eventually loses them. HATED IT, HATED IT, HATED IT. I’m not even sure if I hated the character or the treatment she is given by other characters or probably both. I never found myself rooting for her even when she does come through and saves a couple of lives. And it definitely doesn’t help that none of the other characters (predominately male I should mention) don’t treat her as an equal or give her the respect she wants. If they don’t respect her, why should I? The fact that she’s the main female protagonist, with the exception of some of the raptors, has brought up some discussion of treatment of women in action films. Joss Whedon made a tweet criticizing her role in the movie as well as the movie’s treatment of her. I also didn’t buy her “romance” with Chris Pratt’s Owen. If felt rushed and completely random and lacked of chemistry. I believed Owen’s bond with the raptors more than I believed his relationship with Claire. The trailers hinted that they dated once at some point. Maybe they should have just left it there.

Overall, even with these cons weighing the film down, I still had a good time. With some nods to the original films, it’ll probably please fans of the series as well as those new to Lost World: Jurassic P…I mean, Jurassic World. The climax is pretty much what you expect, yet it’ll still leave you cheering in the theaters. Approach with caution 😉

Rating: 4/5

Most likely to love: Dinosaur lovers, Chris Pratt lovers, Product Placement Lovers

Most likely to hate: South Asians apparently: http://www.mediaite.com/online/stop-enjoying-jurassic-world-because-apparently-its-racist/

Leave a Reply

